Zaheer Khan Names His 15-Man India Squad For T20 World Cup; Leaves Out Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer

Former India pacer Zaheer Khan has excluded senior batsman Shikhar Dhawan from his 15-man India squad for the T20 World Cup. Whereas the T20 World Cup continues to be greater than a few months away, the Indian crew is not going to be enjoying anymore T20 internationals because the Check collection in England might be adopted by the IPL which is able to conclude days earlier than the World Cup begins.

Thus, the recently-concluded collection in opposition to Sri Lanka, which India misplaced, was their final bilateral collection previous to the mega-event in October.

Zaheer Khan has opted for the pair of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul to open with skipper Virat Kohli slotted at three, regardless of Kohli stating earlier that he want to open.

“I’ll open with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma. Virat and Surya will observe them. I do know Virat has made the assertion that he needs to open the innings. However I might nonetheless say that Virat solely opens in case Hardik is just not obtainable to bowl. In that state of affairs, you’ll be able to sacrifice one batsman and get an additional bowler”, the previous India pacer stated on Cricbuzz.

Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan (Picture Credit score: Twitter)

Zaheer Khan had current debutants Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, each having made glowing performances in worldwide cricket, over Shreyas Iyer who will return within the IPL 2021 from a shoulder harm. Kishan and Rahul can even present the backup wicketkeeping choices for Rishabh Pant.

Within the spin-bowling division, the 2011 World Cup winner has opted for Rahul Chahar and certainly one of Washington Sundar or Varun Chakravarthy to help senior leg-spinner, Yuzvendra Chahal.  He additionally identified he want to see T Natarajan within the facet if Bhuvneshwar Kumar isn’t fully match. Mohammed Shami makes Zaheer Khan’s squad strengthening the tempo division together with his expertise.

“I’ve Chahal because the lead leg spinner and likewise went in with Rahul Chahar as his backup. On this format, now we have seen that leg spinner is such a vital issue. Chakravarthy/Sundar would be the spinners who could be bowling with the brand new ball. In order for you that thriller factor, you’ll be able to select Chakravarthy, however in any other case, you’ll be able to go in with Sundar as properly,” the left-hand seamer said.

India are positioned in Group 2 alongside Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two qualifier groups for the Tremendous 12 stage.

Zaheer Khan
Zaheer Khan. Picture-Sportstar

Zaheer Khan’s 15-member India squad for T20 World Cup:

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Chahar, T Natarajan/Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Washington Sundar/Varun Chakravarthy

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button